Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Children's Health
Help my 2 yr old lose weight!
1  2  Next

amother
Copper

Post Wed, Jun 24 2015, 4:41 pm
Dd was a chubby baby who turned into a tall chubby toddler. She was always at the top of the percentiles but dr isn't concerned till she reaches 98%.
She def has a sweet tooth but I don't keep cake or candy in the house. So she doesn't get much of it besides a cup of juice at playgroup. She also doesn't eat a lot. There's usually something left on her plate when she leaves the table and I'm a healthy cook.
I know what the problem is. She's not active. She happy to sit around and do nothing all day.
She's in playgroup in the morning. and I try to encourage movement the rest of the day. Her very active 4 yr old brother loves riding his bike and playing in the park. She stands in one spot and sucks her thumb. When movement is absolutely required (riding a bike round the block) she kvetches and goes so slooowly. When I try to get her involved at the playground she plays for 2 minutes. Then returns to my side to suck her thumb. When I pick her up at playgroup the other kids r running around and she's sitting with a shape sorter.
I can't force her to move. And she has lots of fun opportunity that she's uninterested in.
What to do?

amother
Peach

Post Wed, Jun 24 2015, 4:46 pm
why are u concerned if ur dr is not? chubby toddlers most usually do not grow into fat children only if they have a family history or are dangerously fat. sounds like u r doing a good job limiting the excess calories. I would not dwell on this

myself

Post Wed, Jun 24 2015, 4:50 pm
Personally I wouldn't be concerned just yet but it's definitely a great idea to encourage more physical activity. Can you get a kids exercise CD, or just any fun music CD and do some moves with both the 2 year old and the 4 year old? Or perhaps even do some races or play bunny ginger.

Scrabble123