Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Children's Health
Do you need antibiotics for an ear infection?
1  2  Next

amother
Lemon

Post Fri, Nov 06 2015, 11:27 am
I'm dealing with this for the first time & have heard different things from other parents.
My doctor says I need but other people tell me their doctors no longer routinely prescribe for this.
Any experienced mothers that can help me understand?
Thanks

sky

Post Fri, Nov 06 2015, 11:34 am
I'm not an expert on when to give antibiotics. I think a dr can test if it needs antibiotics but I don't think most do.

Some things to consider:
- I know an adult where the ear infection traveled to his brain and he cannot walk\talk\ or care for himself, so please make an informed decision.
- Ear infections are incredibly painful, I've had 2 as an adult and was in agony. If not treating with antibiotics then try pain relief in the mean time or visit chiropractor to try to drain.

full time mom

Post Fri, Nov 06 2015, 11:38 am
My dr. said you do not have to give medication but you have to treat it! I put a piece of garlic in the ear and then tape on top if the child doesn't let then let garlic sit in olive oil for a while and then warm it in a cup of warm water and put drops in the ear. oil of oregano is also very good you rub it behind the ears or kyolic drops you put a few drops into bottle 3 times a day! Hatzloche! ans Refuah sheleima

lfab

Post Fri, Nov 06 2015, 11:39 am
So I'm not an expert and have no medical training but I believe that the current thinking is that generally an ear infection does not need an antibiotics right away. Some doctors do still prescribe it but some will wait a few days to see if it clears up on its own before prescribing.

HelloG

Post Fri, Nov 06 2015, 11:47 am
85% of ear infections don't require antibiotics. You can test if it's bacterial or viral If you really want