Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Please help me.

amother
Seashell

Post Thu, May 04 2017, 9:11 am
Here's my story:
I am in my mid thirties and have been a SAHM basically my entire married life. I went to college but unfortunately never finished. Life happened. Now I desperately want to do something with my life. I want to make a difference in this world. I don't have babies anymore and I am finished having children. I could volunteer, but I need to make money too. I majored in Biology and have an aptitude for the sciences and math. I always dreamed of becoming a doctor but that is definitely out of my reach. What can I realistically go back for? As I wrote, I never finished college so ideally it would be something you could go to school for without a BA. Or maybe I could finish my BA but not have too much schooling after. I want to feel fulfilled and purpose in my life. (Also, please do not judge my intellect by my writing...writing is not my forte).

cm

Post Thu, May 04 2017, 9:19 am
You can do nursing or dental hygiene at community college in two years. Some other health technology fields take less time.

Have you developed new interests in recent years?

amother
Babypink

Post Thu, May 04 2017, 9:20 am
Kol hakavod!
have you considered social work?

cozyblanket

Post Thu, May 04 2017, 9:53 am
Would you enjoy sonography? It isn't just for pregnancies - you can do echocardiograms or many other things.

Per this site I just found, you can work at a sonogram tech with an associate's degree.
http://www.ultrasoundschoolsinfo.com/degree/

I don't know if there is flexibility in your hours or your schedule -you would need to reach out to women who already do this to find that out.

Per my google searches, a full time sonographer makes 48-68k.

enter

Post Thu, May 04 2017, 12:07 pm
I second the idea of training to be a nurse, if that's something that speaks to you

amother