Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Feeling so down :(
1  2  Next

amother
White

Post Tue, Nov 14 2017, 9:30 pm
Hi everyone!
I teach upper elementary school and until 2 weeks ago I really loved my job. I literally looked forward to going to school.
Just a background....im a really really nice teacher. I listen to the class when they're stressed and I do my best to make things easier for them such as not giving homework often. I try to give them a break whenever possible...
But its at the point where they totally disregard me when I ask for quiet or for cooperation. I bought up the idea of a Chanukah party the other day and all I got were negative vibes. I also heard back from someone that the class was saying things like "its gonna be the nerdiest thing ever."
Im so tired of trying. Im so so upset about this situation and I dont know what to do anymore. Why do I act nice and then get screwed??
I want to quit but I don't want to make any waves. I just hate feeling so miserable...
Thanks for letting me vent!

amother
Yellow

Post Tue, Nov 14 2017, 9:41 pm
Oy. I feel for you. You sound drained by this ordeal.

amother
Bisque

Post Tue, Nov 14 2017, 9:44 pm
Terrible to have to go through this every day. Please don't take an elementary girls comments about a nerdy Chanukah Party to heart. Unfortunately that is the typical attitude of young girls and they can kill you with their words.
If you don't quit by then, I would do everything that this party should rock and prove them wrong!!!

groisamomma

Post Tue, Nov 14 2017, 10:07 pm
Why are you treating them to a party? Please spend your time, money, and effort on people that appreciate what you do for them.

amother
Blush

Post Tue, Nov 14 2017, 10:11 pm