Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Toddlers
Is my baby really hard
1  2  Next

amother
Khaki

Post Sat, Nov 25 2017, 8:30 pm
She is a year and a half. She doesn't let me dress her or undress her or change her diaper. She cries etc. . Everything she sees she needs to touch and mess with. She cries about once every five minutes bec she wants something she can't have. She asks for cookies about four times a day (whenever she is near the closet). She keeps going to the fridge to get food and than touches everything and wants everything. She wants to be held a lot. I have depression and I am sure this is playing into it bec I am not good at distracting her and calming her down but was wondering from others how much crying is normal and how demanding other babies are. She appears to have a mind of her own and is very independent and wants things her way all the time.

thunderstorm

Post Sat, Nov 25 2017, 8:40 pm
If she is a year and a half she could be hitting the terrible twos early. Some of my kids tantrumed at that age already. However their all around behavior was very pleasant at that stage. I would think you need to discuss it with his/her pediatrician. It's possible she "feels" your depression and is acting out accordingly but I'm not a maven. Also, there may be a sensory issue involved as well. Please speak to the pediatrician at your next visit to know what considered ok for this age.

chicco

Post Sat, Nov 25 2017, 8:46 pm
Hi Op, your toddler does sound difficult. But she also sounds pretty typical. This is the age when they are discovering their independence, and yes, they want stuff and their way all of the time. Kind of like we do. The difference is that hopefully we have had many years learning to control ourselves and the reality that we can't always have what we want.