Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Kosher Kitchen
Kashering granite with iron

malky800

Post Thu, Mar 22 2018, 11:11 am
It's my first time making pesach and I was very thrilled by the fact that I have granite countertops that I won't have to cover it.
People are scaring me, that pouring hot water all over will make a huge mess and can ruin your cabinets underneath.
There is a shitah that says you can iron your counters. Has anyone tried it? Does it kill your counters or the iron?
Is it easier or harder than pouring water?

amother
Coral

Post Thu, Mar 22 2018, 11:18 am
I never heard of the iron method, so don't know.I don't have a problem with pouring boiling water over the granite and ruining my wood cabinets beneath. I cover the cabinets with towels and they absorb the mess. If your granite counters are covered with a special sealant, they cannot be kashered

momnaturally

Post Thu, Mar 22 2018, 11:24 am
Very likely iron will ruin granite. Definitely a no.

watergirl

Post Thu, Mar 22 2018, 11:27 am
amother wrote:
I never heard of the iron method, so don't know.I don't have a problem with pouring boiling water over the granite and ruining my wood cabinets beneath. I cover the cabinets with towels and they absorb the mess. If your granite counters are covered with a special sealant, they cannot be kashered

This scared me so I just called the Star K. They said all granite counters have a sealant. Rabbi Heinemann holds that they can 100% be kashered by hagolah no matter what sealant was used. The man I spoke with (not Rabbi Heinemann) said never to listen to halachic advice from an anon mesaage board. Which I think we all know, but the reminder was good!

amother
Coral

Post Thu, Mar 22 2018, 11:40 am
watergirl wrote: