Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Student loans
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Sun, Dec 22 2019, 9:08 am
I have about 30,000 in student loans from Stern College. I'm a teacher married to a teacher. My dad was very firm that you go to a well known school, take out loans and worry about it after. He did not tell me the amount and how many loans etc etc and I only found out once they started contacting me. One loan sent notices to my parents house but I no longer live there and there's a lot of chaos there ie the mail is not checked and things are disorganized so that loan went into collections and I was only notified after it was in collections.

I am so overwhelmed by this situation. We are going to call all the loan and collection places this week to try to get a handle on all this.

amother
Azure

Post Sun, Dec 22 2019, 9:37 am
amother [ OP ] wrote:
I have about 40,000 in student loans from Stern College. I'm a teacher married to a teacher. My dad was very firm that you go to a well known school, take out loans and worry about it after. He did not tell me the amount and how many loans etc etc and I only found out once they started contacting me. One loan sent notices to my parents house but I no longer live there and there's a lot of chaos there ie the mail is not checked and things are disorganized so that loan went into collections and I was only notified after it was in collections.