Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Salary - Accountant (Tax)

amother
OP

Post Sat, Mar 20 2021, 8:46 pm
So I’ve been working for same employer for 15 yrs since graduating school and getting my CPA. Never looked elsewhere since location was so convenient, but it’s time to leave as my FRUM boss is just so mean when it comes to pesach/tax season.

I know I’m underpaid, but need to know by how much so can negotiate during job search. Every time my salary comes up, he keeps saying “how I’m paid more then others in comparable sized firms etc..” and gives me a small raise begrudgingly.

So does anyone have any idea what someone with my level of experience (manager level) should be making at midsize firms? Am thinking $125-150k (175 at big places) but would love to get input from others.

I interviewed at larger firms like BDO and BakerTilly, but it seems that my skill set developed at a smaller firm won’t transfer over to a comparable level.

amother
Apricot

Post Sat, Mar 20 2021, 8:55 pm
Where do you live?

amother
Powderblue

Post Sat, Mar 20 2021, 9:09 pm
Looking to change jobs too. Senior accountant?
How much can one ask for NYC. Great prior experience too.

amother
Linen

Post Sat, Mar 20 2021, 9:19 pm
Go on glassdoor.com

amother
OP

Post Sat, Mar 20 2021, 9:22 pm
amother [ Linen ] wrote:
Go on glassdoor.com

Checked, but looking for more reliable information.

STovah

Post Sun, Mar 21 2021, 6:22 am
The $125-175 range you quoted looks right but the small firms are more likely at the the $100-$125 range. It is hard to break into the midsize firms at that level with only small firm experience, unless your small firm experience was focused in a specific industry. There are always exceptions but this is what I’ve seen as the norm.

amother
Powderblue

Post Sun, Mar 21 2021, 6:28 am
How much can u ask for when u have 3 yrs experience? Senior level