Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Organizing
Bar mitzvah prep 101

amother
OP

Post Sat, Apr 24 2021, 10:50 pm
My son's bar mitzvah is in little over a year !!!
(In Flatbush )
I have some questions for you experienced moms out there:
1) how early do I book things?
2) anyone have a list of things that need to be done/booked?
3) His bo bayom is in the summer and most people are away , so we want to do it a few weeks before - how do I know if another classmate isn't planning on making a party same day?
4) please recommend nice halls that are reasonably priced ...

TIA!!

amother
Pewter

Post Sat, Apr 24 2021, 11:27 pm
amother [ OP ] wrote:

3) His bo bayom is in the summer and most people are away , so we want to do it a few weeks before - how do I know if another classmate isn't planning on making a party same day?

TIA!!

Surely the point of Bo BaYom is that it is on the day of his birthday/Bar Mitzvah, not a few weeks earlier or later?

Or is this local code word for a specific type of party?

amother
OP

Post Sat, Apr 24 2021, 11:39 pm
amother [ Pewter ] wrote:
Surely the point of Bo BaYom is that it is on the day of his birthday/Bar Mitzvah, not a few weeks earlier or later?

Or is this local code word for a specific type of party?

What I meant was that the main bar mitzvah party won't be on his actual hebrew birthday (we'll do A small seuda bo bayom), if it was his actual hebrew birthday, I wouldnt worry as much about another classmates bar mitzvah same day...

mom!

Post Sun, Apr 25 2021, 5:03 am
Why don’t you call the school and ask for a list of class birthdays? That way you’ll know for sure not to double book.

DVOM

Post Sun, Apr 25 2021, 5:24 am
Mazal tov!