Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Recipe Collection -> Desserts
Dessert ideas
1  2  Next

mother of 2 princess's

Post Mon, Oct 10 2005, 7:17 pm
I need some dessert ideas for yomtov. im not very good at the desserts so something basic is good
thanks

Tefila

Post Mon, Oct 10 2005, 7:36 pm
Well I need new easy ideas only I'm fed up w/h icecream wether it's in a pie or in a cone and please no fruit platter it's coming out of my ears. Exclamation What I need is something that is not soo pricy since we're expecting a crowd am I asking too much Smile

sarahd

Post Mon, Oct 10 2005, 7:47 pm
Apple crisps are always my solution! They're great to serve in the sukkah, especially for people who live in the North (not that we know where you live, freilich LOL ) And they freeze very well. And they're easy to make, as long as you have someone to peel and cut the apples. See the recipe collection for my version. I also make apple-cranberry cobbler often, and it freezes pretty well.

Otherwise, how about cake and tea? Hungarian apple cake is great, roll out two layers of flaky or pie dough to cookie sheet size, sprinkle one layer with bread crumbs, layer with thinly sliced apples (slice them in the food processor and squeeze out the extra juice), sprinkle with sugar according to the apples' tartness and cover with the second layer of dough. Prick the dough and bake. Cut into squares, sprinkle with confectioners sugar and serve!

I just noticed all my suggestion are apple-linked. Well, it's the season for them, isn't it?

BrachaVHatzlocha

Post Mon, Oct 10 2005, 8:24 pm
if you have the best of the Heimishe cookbook there's a yummy strawberry dessert there....sorry, it's similiar to ice cream, freilich. I don't have the patience to get out my cookbook right now, but basically it's marshmellow fluff, strawberries (frozen) and whip - in a pie shell frozen.
let me know if you're interested in the full recipe