Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Job decision & ambivalent feelings

daisymae

Post Thu, May 15 2008, 12:12 am
I've been teaching in special ed girls' programs for four years (after 20 years as a social worker) and I need to find something for next year -- my current position was/is too shaky financially and after the last two years in the resource room, I'm anxious to get back to a classroom. I'm finding that I am very ambivalent about which path to take -- continuing in a frum environment or trying public school (there are a few decent ones in my area). My original feelings about becoming a teacher were that I wanted to be of help to frum kids. Now I'm finding that I resent the low pay. On the other hand, working in a public school would be more time-consuming and also would be a problem in terms of dismissal time on Fridays during the winter, not to mention the fact that I would still like to be in a frum environment helping frum kids. Although my husband is currently supportive and will accept any decision I make, he has pushed for the public school option in the past for financial reasons (we're not starving, B"H, but things could be better).

Any advice? Chizuk? Just plain feedback? I'm just so frustrated that I find it's coloring my feelings about teaching in general, although I still really love the field.

Toot

Post Mon, May 26 2008, 11:31 am
Well no matter where you end up, you will be helping kids. While teaching in a public school means you won't be directly helping frum kids, there could still be some non frum Jewish kids whom you would be helping, and you could potentially be a great Jewish role model for them as well.

If you were to switch to the public school next year, how long would you be signing on for? I might try it for a year and come back to this question next year, when you've seen both sides of the coin more clearly.