Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Tutoring a group of 8 - how much should I charge?

amother
OP

Post Wed, Jan 18 2023, 3:24 pm
Hi,
the school where I teach has asked me to tutor a group of 8/9 girls who are in 6th grade, who are struggling with their math. It would be out of school time, probably in my home. I have over 20 years experience teaching math. They have asked me to name my price. I need to charge per session because unsure how many sessions it will be. I will be setting homework, grading it, in other words, everything a regular class teacher does. The school will be paying for this tutoring, not the parents.
What would you charge?
I never tutor usually, so have no idea.
OOT big community school if that makes a difference.
Thanks in advance

amother
Mintcream

Post Wed, Jan 18 2023, 3:43 pm
$100 a session. Maybe more.

amother
Gardenia

Post Wed, Jan 18 2023, 4:20 pm
Maybe 25-30 a session? I would think 100 is for private, 1-1. Edit. Misread. At least 100 if you're not doing individual payments.

BrachaBatya

Post Wed, Jan 18 2023, 4:21 pm
$100-$150 per hour

amother
OP

Post Wed, Jan 18 2023, 4:24 pm
thanks all.

amother
OP

Post Wed, Jan 18 2023, 5:23 pm
just wondering if $100 is too much. I feel bad to charge so much... I don't know how much my usual salary comes out to per hour, but $100 sounds like a lot... is it right to charge a Torah institution that much?
any more thoughts?
how much do teachers usually get paid per period or per hour?
TIA. I really appreciate the responses

TravelHearter

Post Wed, Jan 18 2023, 5:25 pm
I just want to say that sounds like a great school. Paying for their students’ tutoring??!

amother
OP

Post Wed, Jan 18 2023, 5:28 pm
TravelHearter wrote:
I just want to say that sounds like a great school. Paying for their students’ tutoring??!