Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
So much guilt about daycare
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  Next

amother
OP

Post Mon, May 22 2023, 11:38 am
My 2 year old is in school 8:30-3:30. And I always feel guilty about it because I don’t work full time or make a full time salary. I am a freelance writer and not all of my work is billable - I’m also looking for clients, sending proposals, etc. Plus I have appts and run errands during the day.

Is this normal, do other part time workers send their kid to daycare full time? I just always feel so bad that I’m not even making a lot of money. And then I think about getting a full time job but when I did that I was so overwhelmed.

amother
Olive

Post Mon, May 22 2023, 11:40 am
do what's best for you. I work 10 hours a week and send my kids to childcare. it's what works for me. they are in warm loving environments and are thriving and I need some time to get stuff done and time for myself. I still spend plenty of time with them thank Gd

amother
Offwhite

Post Mon, May 22 2023, 11:41 am
Do you have the option of doing fewer hours at daycare? Sometimes cutting an hour can be helpful, let's say doing 9-3 instead. If the whole place is on one schedule then it is what it is, as long as your dc is happy it's ok.

amother
OP

Post Mon, May 22 2023, 11:43 am
amother Offwhite wrote:
Do you have the option of doing fewer hours at daycare? Sometimes cutting an hour can be helpful, let's say doing 9-3 instead. If the whole place is on one schedule then it is what it is, as long as your dc is happy it's ok.

No not really :/ and the place I’m sending him to next year only has 12:30 or 4 options and I’m doing 4 and feel terrible about it. I’ll also add that my husband gets home late so he isn’t able to help quite as much.

amother
Mulberry

Post Mon, May 22 2023, 11:48 am
I work 12 hours a week and my toddler is out 9-3.30.