Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Shopping
Uber Eats - how does it work?
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Thu, Jun 08 2023, 1:56 pm
I got a promo code for $30 off my first order.
So for example, if I spend $25 on the food -
how much will the order really come out to with delivery and other fees?
How much should I tip in this case? (travel is about 5-10 min)
Should I add the tip to the app or tip in cash upon delivery? Where do I state that I'll tip at the door?
I'm a newbie. So just wondering if my $30 freebie will end up costing me more than anticipated.

amother
Burlywood

Post Thu, Jun 08 2023, 1:58 pm
Yes it will cost you more than you think. I assume $30 is for an order of more than x amount of money.

IME the best Uber coupons end up costing you very slightly less than going to the store and ordering yourself. There's a service fee, tip etc

Tipping depends on where you live, in my area no one will pick up my order if I give less than a $5 tip. You're supposed to tip in app

Amarante

Post Thu, Jun 08 2023, 2:02 pm
Just add it up and see what it comes to. The promotional codes of that amount are generally a good deal.

You have to tip in the App because that is how the delivery people make their money.

amother
OP

Post Thu, Jun 08 2023, 2:12 pm
Amarante wrote:
Just add it up and see what it comes to. The promotional codes of that amount are generally a good deal.

You have to tip in the App because that is how the delivery people make their money.

I thought they might prefer getting cash.

Amarante

Post Thu, Jun 08 2023, 2:16 pm
amother OP wrote:
I thought they might prefer getting cash.

They are paid the tip. They won’t pick up an order without a tip.

amother
DarkMagenta

Post Thu, Jun 08 2023, 3:44 pm
Amarante wrote:

That's not true. I don't always tip. I always get my order.

Amarante

Post Thu, Jun 08 2023, 4:03 pm
amother DarkMagenta wrote: