Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Teenagers and Older children
Finals - Chizzuk needed, I am beyond frustrated
1  2  3  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jun 13 2023, 6:57 pm
I have a sweet natured regular 16 yr old daughter. We normally get along great.
I am so angry now I can't calm myself down.
She thinks that I am an Uber driver/take out store delivery lady,and ATM machine so that her royal highness can study for finals LIKE ALL HER OTHER FRIENDS.

I gave her a certain amt of extra allowance money for extra food treats during the final weeks as a gift just like I did by midterms, she has plenty of her own money as well.

Do all the other mothers really drive them from friend to friend, to take out stores, to pools etc? They are having so much fun, they are barely studying.

I currently just had a major blowup with her when she made a snooty comment about having to use her own money since I didnt give her enough. I am feeling guilty abt the blowup but in general I feel like her friends also are feeling entitled to have their poor mothers at their beck and call while they run around town spending money having fun.

Am I the only one that feels this way?
And does anyone have some advice how I can amend this - still have another week to go...

amother
Bisque

Post Tue, Jun 13 2023, 7:00 pm
No, I do not do any of that. My kids know that if they want treats they pay for it. Why do finals entitle kids to be treated to every luxury and chauffeured around town? Is this a new thing?

amother
Crimson

Post Tue, Jun 13 2023, 7:00 pm
Yes to everything. The spending, the running around having fun, the hardly studying.
Something must change with final and midterm season. Let the girls stay a full day in school and use some time to study there plus some sports! It’s really insane and hefker!

amother
Sapphire

Post Tue, Jun 13 2023, 7:25 pm