Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Moving/ Relocating
Community Recommendations
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Mon, Jul 31 2023, 12:29 am
Hi everyone,

I'm looking for recommendations on the east coast. Budget is under 2K per month for a minimum of 2 bedroom 1 bath with washer/dryer hookups.

We are looking for a school that goes through 12th grade and basic kosher amenities for that out of town experience with some in town conveniences nearby (within 45 minute drive).

Hashkafically, we are a cholent. Dh is a former Chabad BT turned Stam Chassidishe. My background is a mische of Litvish/Plain Black Hatters with a bit of right wing modox and chassidus thrown in.

I would be looking for an entry level job in a corporate office. My husband will be bringing his job with him iyh. I would need access (within an hour) to a larger city for work. We would like to be within 2 hours of Boston but can stretch to 3 for the right place.

I would prefer a place that's not too modern. By that, I mean that I would prefer a place where congregants do not talk about doing melachos at shul. I also prefer that the mechitza is not regular glass or so short it is at my waist. A kollel that can accommodate a chavrusa for my husband is a BIG plus.

I'm not particular that the school is so strong in secular academics as long as the Jewish studies are strong. We both agree that we can assist with the secular studies at home.

If you have ideas, please let me know. I have just been looking at shuls on Google maps and throwing darts so to speak as to which community we are looking at.

Much appreciated. Iyh we should find a place for our family soon.

amother
Narcissus

Post Mon, Jul 31 2023, 12:37 am
Have you looked into Passaic?
What about Waterbury?

Not sure if they meet all of your specifications though

amother
OP

Post Mon, Jul 31 2023, 12:51 am
amother Narcissus wrote: