Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
OT/Speech

amother
OP

Post Sun, Aug 27 2023, 12:40 am
My daughter is considering going into one of these fields. She does not feel a drive but wants flexibility as a mother. What are the pros and cons from people in the field? I feel like most are not thrilled. What are some other options?

amother
Blushpink

Post Sun, Aug 27 2023, 12:44 am
I'm a different kind of therapist. But as she will be working with people whether children or adults, please don't do it if the passion isn't there. If you won't truly invest yourself in learning the field well to best serve your clients you are doing yourself and them a disservice. If your child or family member needed therapy you would want more than that
There is also the misconception that the flexibility or "making your own hours" comes with generous compensation. Most only get paid for the hours they work and the more flexible the job the less likelihood there are any benefits.
In general healthcare salaries are not rising much as reimbursement is dependent on health insurance/state/boe funds. They do not increase generously. Those who make big rates often invest a lot in education in a specific niche and take cash clients only

amother
Whitesmoke

Post Mon, Aug 28 2023, 4:07 pm
Speech therapist here

ABSOLUTELY DO NOT go into the field unless you have a passion for it and enjoy it and can see yourself doing it every day.

Flexibility is not a reason to choose the field. Many jobs nowadays have flexible options. And while your hours may be flexible, it's not the most family friendly job because there is a ton of outside work (prep/paperwork/parent contact) that you need to do on your own time.

The schooling is long, difficult, and expensive ( about 80-90k). The job itself is very draining, it's not easy to work with kids and do many sessions a day and then come home with energy for your own kids.