Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Am I crazy?
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Sat, Dec 23 2023, 5:49 pm
I was told the book The Cay by Timothy Taylor is considered inappropriate by a school to teach in a frum setting. Last year I was at a different school. I remember reading this book when I was a student myself. After examining the book from all angles, I could not for the life of me find something objectionable. It can be a great curricular piece. It’s from the 60’s, for heavens sake!

After some probing, I found out that this is because of an “inappropriate word.” I didn’t remember any of those, so after hearing a bit more, I was truly shocked. Apparently, it’s because the book refers to a character’s hands that are weathered and callused with a perfectly apt word, h-o-r-n-y. But apparently some parents thought that because that word has a meaning that adults use in different settings, the book should be banned. I have seldom heard something as ridiculous as that coming from a school, but apparently this was a shared feeling. Am I crazy? What am I not understanding??

amother
Azure

Post Sat, Dec 23 2023, 6:02 pm
That sounds crazy to me!

amother
Seafoam

Post Sat, Dec 23 2023, 6:02 pm
It’s a sensitivity
I’d let it go
And find a different book

amother
Almond

Post Sat, Dec 23 2023, 6:06 pm
amother OP wrote:
Apparently, it’s because the book refers to a character’s hands that are weathered and callused with a perfectly apt word, h-o-r-n-y. But apparently some parents thought that because that word has a meaning that adults use in different settings, the book should be banned. I have seldom heard something as ridiculous as that coming from a school, but apparently this was a shared feeling. Am I crazy? What am I not understanding??