Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
How can I find an investor?
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jan 09 2024, 2:05 pm
I would like to start a business (in an area that I have a lot of experience in). I just don’t have any money.. How can I find an investor?
(Located in NJ)

amother
Sage

Post Tue, Jan 09 2024, 2:16 pm
do you have any family or friends to ask?
how much do you need?

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jan 09 2024, 3:11 pm
amother Sage wrote:
do you have any family or friends to ask?
how much do you need?

I’m not sure, I definitely don’t want to involve family.

amother
Peachpuff

Post Tue, Jan 09 2024, 3:12 pm
amother OP wrote:
I’m not sure, I definitely don’t want to involve family.

Do you own a house? Can you borrow from the bank?
Do you have a good business plan?

fig

Can you take a home equity or a private loan? High interest might be a better choice than sharing your business
profits with an investor.

amother
Molasses

Is EPI still around? They give out business loans. I don't know if you had to have an existing business or they give start up capital as well. You can also take out a business loan.

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jan 09 2024, 3:42 pm
amother Peachpuff wrote:
Do you own a house? Can you borrow from the bank?
Do you have a good business plan?

I don’t want to borrow from the bank.
Business plan is good. I think!

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jan 09 2024, 3:43 pm
fig wrote:
Can you take a home equity or a private loan? High interest might be a better choice than sharing your business
profits with an investor.

I think I’d prefer an investor even though I may regret it one day

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jan 09 2024, 3:43 pm
amother Molasses wrote:
Is EPI still around? They give out business loans. I don't know if you had to have an existing business or they give start up capital as well. You can also take out a business loan.

How is their loan different than a bank loan?