Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Lakewood, Toms River & Jackson related Inquiries
Need to repair after a tenant moves out
1  2  3  4  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jan 30 2024, 2:57 pm
My tenants just moved out, and this is my first time renting out a property. I'm not sure how to go about handling the return of the security deposit, since theres a few issues with the house:

1. Large amount of furniture left (15 pieces inside) plus bulk items and trash all over the property
2. Wall damage, including large nail holes, wall shelves needing to be taken down, a tv mount still up. A few rooms need to be spackled and/or repainted

Also a few light bulbs are out and smoke detectors need new batteries, but im not sure if this is something I charge to the tenants?

If anyone can help me figure out how much to charge, id really appreciate it. I guess for furniture/trash I need to call a junk removal service and they'll give me a quote, but for the painting and wall damages (which my DH will probably do himself), how do I figure out the costs?

amother
Rainbow

Post Tue, Jan 30 2024, 3:02 pm
You can usually work it out to keep the security deposit to cover all the repairs.

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jan 30 2024, 3:06 pm
amother Rainbow wrote:
You can usually work it out to keep the security deposit to cover all the repairs.

Im not looking to keep the whole thing, I only want to cover the damages. Also im gonna have to send them an itemized deduction so ill have to know specific amounts for charges to repair..

Chayalle

Post Tue, Jan 30 2024, 3:06 pm
amother OP wrote:
My tenants just moved out, and this is my first time renting out a property. I'm not sure how to go about handling the return of the security deposit, since theres a few issues with the house:

1. Large amount of furniture left (15 pieces inside) plus bulk items and trash all over the property