Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Vacation and Traveling
Has anyone kashered only half of their kitchen
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Thu, Mar 28 2024, 12:50 pm
In order to begin cooking for pesach?
I’ve never done this before but I’m considering.
Yes, I wish I had a pesach kitchen …
So when my kids were little I kashered/covered close to 2 weeks before because I always have lots of sleepover guests.
Last few years it was just a week before- maybe a day or two less when I started cooking. My kids are teens and give me a hard time. They want to eat and not be busy hearing about the kitchen- DONT wash your hands in the sink after pizza! No, you cannot toast your bagel now… etc
It was much easier when they were small. I gave them something to eat, put them to bed at 7pm and went back to cooking.
Now they stay up later than I do. And they always want food.
So I’m thinking.. I have 2 sinks, 2 ovens… would it work to kasher one side, start cooking during the day ( I CANT do nights anymore!) and cover the area with plastic tablecloths when everyone comes home? Will this make me crazy having pesach and chometz going on at the same time? Should I just wait until I can do the whole kitchen? I’m a little nervous about all the cooking and wish I could get started. I’m having a large crowd this year and wish I could start.
I do set up a table for my kids outside the kitchen with a toaster oven and Betty Crocker for chometz and even that gets me nervous once I start cooking for pesach.
I’m really not sure what to do…
Would appreciate insights!

ShishKabob

Post Thu, Mar 28 2024, 12:52 pm
I think it's too tricky to work like that. I would say not to do this. Just wait until you can kasher the right way.

A drop of chometz on pesach is not simple at all, totally not worth it.

amother
Babyblue

Post Thu, Mar 28 2024, 12:56 pm
ShishKabob wrote: