Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Finding a babysitter, I'm losing it

amother
OP

Post Sun, May 05 2024, 9:24 pm
I cannot even keep count any more of how many babysitters have turned me down because of the hours I need. I work in a hospital setting and work 3 days a week of 12 hour shifts each of those days. But my DH can do drop-off and pick up at 8:30 and 5:30. No babysitter wants to take me on for only 3 days a week. I don't want to send more than the days I work because I want to be home with my baby. And their math doesn't even make sense. For example, one told me I need to send 4 days a week for 6 hours minimum each day. That's 24 hours a week. But if send from 8:30-5:30 for 3 days a week that comes out to 27 hours a week. So why is that a problem? Can someone clue me in to why babysitters have these day requirements? And what I'm supposed to do if I can't find a sitter?

amother
Latte

Post Sun, May 05 2024, 9:27 pm
My friend with that schedule got an au pair.

amother
Midnight

Post Sun, May 05 2024, 9:31 pm
Where are you located and what age is your baby? Maybe I’d consider it

amother
OP

Post Sun, May 05 2024, 9:41 pm
Thanks for both your responses. I don’t want someone living in my home and I don’t have the budget for a private sitter.

amother
Lime

Post Sun, May 05 2024, 9:52 pm
Can you pay for the four days but only send for three ? Besides , isn’t it possible you might sometimes want a couple of hours on your day off for an appointment or whatever ?? Might be worth it !

amother
Steelblue

Post Sun, May 05 2024, 10:00 pm
I used to babysit fulltime hours
In order to balance not taking too many children vs being able to make a living wage and also keeping my returning client happy, I needed to not accept just 3 day a week babies.
I would make a detailed calculation of how many ft slots I had, or pt. Depending on my own children's schedule.