Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
How much does it COST you to work?
1  2  Next

amother
Seafoam

Post Sun, Sep 11 2016, 10:00 am
The question says it all.
For me- per month- $2000 usd for babysitter- I need to have someone in my house due to my hours and number of kids needing childcare.
$500 per month for private transportation since I can't do car pool because I work during the morning and afternoon carpool times.
So for me that's $2500/month to make it possible for me to work. Just curious how it works for others? (I work full time plus, as I'm a manager and things always crop up that need taking care of)

amother
Slategray

Post Sun, Sep 11 2016, 10:07 am
I actually turned down a good job because of this and now I'm working very part time. My husband did the math: he said we would have to pay much more for the kids insurance, we would be in a higher tax bracket, pay for full time babysitting, gas, etc
At the end of the day I would be making pocket change.

amother
Maroon

Post Sun, Sep 11 2016, 10:17 am
amother wrote:
For me- per month- $2000 usd for babysitter- I need to have someone in my house due to my hours and number of kids needing childcare.
$500 per month for private transportation since I can't do car pool because I work during the morning and afternoon carpool times.
So for me that's $2500/month to make it possible for me to work. Just curious how it works for others? (I work full time plus, as I'm a manager and things always crop up that need taking care of)

$50 a month for on and off transportation.
$1200 a year for extra childcare here and there so let's call that $100 a month.
$600 a year for extra clothing so let's call that $50 a month.
$100 a month for 2 hours of cleaning om Friday which I didn't used to need when I didn't work on Friday.

So I guess that makes it $300 a month extra. Or $3,600 annually.