Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Why do teachers think they work the hardest?
1  2  3  4  5  Next

amother
Mustard

Post Mon, Apr 03 2017, 10:10 am
I will preface this by saying that I used to be a teacher and I quit because I got burned out. I know full well what a tough job it is and the perks that people who have never taught like to gripe about were nice but not enough to entice me to stay. So I really do get it and I don't mean this as a teacher bash. I'm genuinely happy with my new profession and not complaining about that either.

But what I don't get is why teachers think they have it the hardest of everyone. Yes, you bring work home but you're not the only ones. Both me and dh also have to bring some work home and are also expected to be available to deal with certain things while technically off the clock. Yes, there's a lot of pressure and politics from different factions (kids, parents, administration), but that exists in most other professions as well. Yes, the pay is low especially given the training and education required, but that's also true of a number of other professions (including the one I ended up switching to). This often comes up during times of year when teachers get an obvious perk- I thought of this due to a discussion I saw about many schools being off this week already and all this teachers chimed in to say why school needs to be closed this week. Really, for every reason they gave, I could say pretty much the same about why I should have off this week from my job. But I don't, so I am paying through the nose for childcare this week. My job is hard too. So is my dh's. So are the jobs of all the not teachers I know. And yes, teaching is hard too, I know that, I personally couldn't hack it. But it's not the most uniquely difficult thing out there and it's not a martyrdom.

amother
Gray

Post Mon, Apr 03 2017, 10:17 am