Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
How to Help my Son in School
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Sep 24 2019, 7:00 pm
My son is academically about 3 to 4 grades advanced and is acting out in school due to boredom. All that he knows is self taught (figured out on his own). He is also socially behind, so grade skipping would be a bad idea.The school is asking for suggestions how to accommodate him. Ideas?

He is very young, it's going to be long haul Sad

chestnut

Post Tue, Sep 24 2019, 7:24 pm
Is he that advanced in all subjects or just some?
He can go out of class to do a math computer program, for example

behappy2

Post Tue, Sep 24 2019, 7:30 pm
Are there higher academic schools you can switch him to? Can you afford a private tutor during school hours to stimulate him? Can he be a younger grade helper?

amother
OP

Post Tue, Sep 24 2019, 7:50 pm
chestnut wrote:
Is he that advanced in all subjects or just some?
He can go out of class to do a math computer program, for example

He is already doing a self paced computer program for math, but he can't do that all day. He is advanced in most areas, but especially math and reading.

amother
OP

Post Tue, Sep 24 2019, 7:53 pm
behappy2 wrote:
Are there higher academic schools you can switch him to? Can you afford a private tutor during school hours to stimulate him? Can he be a younger grade helper?

There is a non Jewish gifted school about 30 minutes away, but I think he needs the Jewish environment. He can go so far with gemara when he gets older and I don't want him to lose out on yiddishkeit.

He is in one of the youngest grades and is also immature, so helping others is not really appropriate here.

Anyone else in the same situation?

amother
Mint

Post Tue, Sep 24 2019, 8:07 pm
What grade is this?

amother
OP

Post Tue, Sep 24 2019, 8:11 pm
amother [ Mint ] wrote:
What grade is this?

1st grade.

trixx