Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Our Challenging Children (gifted, ADHD, sensitive, defiant)
Ds has been calling inappropriate numbers!!

amother
OP

Post Tue, May 09 2023, 7:02 pm
Ds age 12, just told me he’s been calling inappropriate numbers, to learn about inappropriate adult topics. He’s gotten quite the education. And has been communicating with strangers on the phone. I’m beyond horrified. Didn’t even realize these things still exist! he got the first number from the radio in my car, when he was waiting for me, and that number gave him some more. I don’t know the numbers.
How do I lock the ability to call these numbers from all phones, hours, cells, etc? And any other adult numbers like this that I don’t know the number, but it’s an adult line?
I’m not tech savvy at all.
Please help!
Also any refs for a therapist, or parental guidance that can help me navigate this?

Rappel

Post Tue, May 09 2023, 7:14 pm
Under what context did he tell you about this?

amother
Oldlace

Post Tue, May 09 2023, 7:23 pm
Don’t have to freak out

He wants answers and to understand

Speak to him calmly and nonchalantly and answer his questions. This is a part of life and not a big deal. Him calling places to get answers is sad - let him speak to your husband or you and jsut get facts

He doesn’t need a therapist

nnmom

Post Tue, May 09 2023, 7:26 pm
So impressed with him and you that he came forward with the information!

amother
OP

Post Tue, May 09 2023, 8:11 pm