Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Infants
Tummy time

amother
OP

Post Wed, Sep 06 2023, 7:53 pm
Is it just as important if baby sleeps on his stomach?

amother
Blueberry

Post Wed, Sep 06 2023, 7:57 pm
Tummy time only ‘counts’ if the baby is awake.

Ema of 5

Post Wed, Sep 06 2023, 7:59 pm
amother OP wrote:
Is it just as important if baby sleeps on his stomach?

I’m not an expert by any means, but I think the focus is head posture. They’re not really doing much when they sleep, ya know?

https://safesleepacademy.org/tummy-time/

amother
OP

Post Wed, Sep 06 2023, 8:00 pm
amother Blueberry wrote:
Tummy time only ‘counts’ if the baby is awake.

Thanks. I thought they only instituted tummy time when they said backs to sleep?

amother
Daylily

Post Wed, Sep 06 2023, 8:07 pm
amother OP wrote:
Thanks. I thought they only instituted tummy time when they said backs to sleep?

You’re right. No reputable source will say it because the party line is all back to sleep all the time. Babies who sleep on their stomachs naturally turn their heads back and forth and raise them up and down while falling asleep and when they wake up. Sometimes in their sleep.

That being said, you don’t want to risk your baby’s future to an anonymous amother so you might as well do some awake tummy time anyway. But don’t worry, babies who sleep on their stomachs don’t resist tummy time, it shouldn’t be a battle.

amother
Blueberry

Post Wed, Sep 06 2023, 8:18 pm
amother OP wrote:

Right. So if your baby is awake in the crib, on his stomach, your fine.

mushkamothers

Post Wed, Sep 06 2023, 8:32 pm
Its still important but also, sleeping on stomach does count as tummy time. (So does babywearing)

amother
Bronze

Post Thu, Sep 07 2023, 5:13 am