Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Toddlers
The hitting stage?

princessmommy

Post Mon, Mar 07 2005, 7:04 am
My 20 month old son hits kids for seemingly no reason. He is not being possesive of toys or anything-he just randomly goes over to other kids and pushes or smacks them. He goes to a playgroup and the Morah has started to complain a bit. I really dont want him to be asked to leave the playgroup!
He is generally a very sweet and gentle natured kid...We give him lots of love and attention, and are not sure exactly why he is acting up.prob a stage...but
any suggestions? Rolling Eyes Banging head

Pearl

Post Mon, Mar 07 2005, 7:22 am
first of all, let the records show that I am NOT an professional child educator, just a mom of 3 Smile

hitting etc at that age is so common! in stead of complaining, I would think that a morah of a playgroup has plenty experience and education in order to deal with it, or to recognise the need to discuss it with you as a parent, if it would be out of the ordinary...
as far as I know, almost every child at that age hits, bites or kicks. I assume that he doesn't talk? because usually the physical "violence" is a sign of frustration, cause the chid can't express itself in words yet. also, their "personal space" is very important to them. a toddler is the center of his/her universe - having other toddlers in that universe can be extremely confusing to them. at that age, they are not capable of making friends - he can play with moishe one day, and hit him the second day...
if you feel very uncomfortable about it, talk to the morah, who, in my opinion, should be unbiased. if he hits the same kid over and over again, then maybe there is a problem, maybe something happened? try and find out!