Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays -> Purim
Tipping with mm?
1  2  3  Next

Do you tip teachers/rebbes with mm?
Yes  
 70%  [ 82 ]
No  
 24%  [ 28 ]
Yes, but I don't think its common where I live  
 0%  [ 1 ]
No, but it is super common where I live and I cant for whatever reason (please share the reason if you'd like)  
 4%  [ 5 ]
Total Votes : 116

watergirl

Post Tue, Mar 08 2016, 2:10 pm
Out of curiosity, I wonder if tipping is "in town". I have never heard of such a thing until the past few years. And DH and I are teachers! If you tip, please share with us how much, and where you live.

notshanarishona

Post Tue, Mar 08 2016, 2:54 pm
Never heard of it before imamother and I was a teacher!!
I never received a money tip.
got many Mishloach Manot and presents through out the year from students though.

watergirl

Post Tue, Mar 08 2016, 3:15 pm
So all of these people who say yes, they tip - where do you live?

Fox

Post Tue, Mar 08 2016, 3:17 pm
I think it was a custom in Europe and in the early days of frum Jewish life in America to give rebbeim money on Purim and Chanukah. Not sure about the reasoning behind Chanukah, but cash gifts at Purim were designed to help poorly-paid rebbeim make Pesach.

Of course, what constituted a gift has changed a bit. I know of one rosh yeshiva who describes how his mother would save coupons from manufacturers in order to present her sons' rebbeim with a silver-plated spoon each Purim. The point of the story is to illustrate his mother's tremendous hakores hatov, but each time I hear it, I can't help but wonder what the rebbeim did with those spoons.

littleprincess

Post Tue, Mar 08 2016, 3:34 pm
We tip the rebbes on Purim, chanuka and before sukkos and pessach
Last year ds had an amazing rebbe who has a large family so we gave him bigger tips.