Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays -> Rosh Hashana-Yom Kippur
Is this a reason to ask for a heter?
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Sep 19 2023, 10:43 am
Baby will be 6 weeks old. I know you're only considered a cholah for the first 30 days. But I'm not good at fasts in general and have never done one while breastfeeding an infant before (my other kids were born not long after YK, by Tisha b'av they were already eating food much of the time) I've been having a hard time keeping my strength up even on regular days and have had milk supply issues that require supplementing with formula. I've been working really hard to get my milk going and there's been improvement, but I'm assuming a rav would say that if the baby takes formula then it's not really a problem if I lose my supply over Yom Kippur. And the truth is that healthwise, for the baby, it wouldn't be. I would just be extremely disappointed to be busted or even set back after a month and a half of working on this.

Has anyone ever gotten a heter to do shiurim longer than a month after birth?

Elfrida

Post Tue, Sep 19 2023, 10:49 am
You can ask.

Your Rav will either say yes or no.

Either way, you won't have lost anything.

amother
Dimgray

Post Tue, Sep 19 2023, 10:52 am
I'm not a Rav but from hat I read I can imagine you'll probably not get a heter being that it's not for health issues of either you or the baby. Hugs anyway.
Let us know if you do get one!

Cheiny

Post Tue, Sep 19 2023, 10:57 am
amother OP wrote: