Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children
Help me figure out supper!

amother
OP

Post Tue, Feb 20 2024, 4:52 pm
Supper in my house is ridiculous, I don't even know what to do anymore. I am an excellent cook and my kids (ages 3-12) hardly like any real foods. If I make a normal supper they complain, if I make no real supper, they complain. I dread making supper because no one is ever happy and half the time it's just a waste. All they want to eat is pasta and cheese in 6 different versions.
This is all probably my fault because I was never able to make my kids eat what I served. I have at least one extremely picky child. For a while I made supper and then said if you don't want it, make something for yourself or have cereal and milk. Problem is they rather have the cereal and milk or grilled cheese.
I'm just so burnt out from all this.
Did I mention that I'm an excellent cook?

dankbar

Post Tue, Feb 20 2024, 4:54 pm
Don't take it personally.

amother
Mistyrose

Post Tue, Feb 20 2024, 4:58 pm
It's normal children's behavior.
Maybe just make them pasta and cheese for the time being. You'll see, they'll outgrow this stage too.

rmbg

Post Tue, Feb 20 2024, 5:01 pm
amother Mistyrose wrote:
It's normal children's behavior.
Maybe just make them pasta and cheese for the time being. You'll see, they'll outgrow this stage too.

Agree. What’s the big deal if that’s what they want to eat?

amother
Sage

Post Tue, Feb 20 2024, 5:02 pm
Make just enough for 4 ppl. DH and yourself and extras to entice the kids. And then make for them a big pot of parve pasta.
They can put cheese on it and melt if they want or have grilled cheese or cereal and milk

This is what my DD does with her kids
She only makes a proper dinner for her husband and herself.

amother
Firethorn

Post Tue, Feb 20 2024, 5:04 pm
We rotate
Pastas and sauce and cheese or just sauce
Spaghetti and meatballs
Grilled cheese