Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management
Household Management 101

psychdoc613

Post Wed, Sep 27 2023, 11:57 am
I’m about to be a kallah BH! I am not young, getting married later in life (long story), no I won’t say how old but it’s definitely older than you think! BH I am so blessed to have found a wonderful Chosson! Even though I am an older bride and have lived on my own I am realizing I have zero sense of how to setup and run a home. My own mother was not reliable with this and we don’t have an easy relationship now. I wish I had my grandmothers alive because they were masters of homemaking.

I’m BT (not FFB) and BH I am a very good cook but I also have severe ADHD and a full time job with an erratic schedule. Schedules, routines, planning — not my strong suit — but I feel like if I had some “plan” or list of rules I could be better. Like every Sunday is laundry day or meal planning is done on x day or whatever.

I literally need help with some sort of master plan — how do you menu plan for the week? How do you make a budget? How do you develop and maintain a cleaning schedule (with or without help)? What are regular household maintenance things (daily/weekly/monthly) that when done consistently make life feel more manageable? How do you find and hire a good housekeeper/maid?

As a BT, I assume that some of this is maybe learned in Bais Yaakov or seminary (neither of which I attended). I have a fantasy that there is some kind of course (like a home economics class from the 1950s or something) to take or book to read.

I’m sure this maybe sounds nuts but I see how I don’t really have any systems or routines in place for myself as an individual and when I am married BH I will be responsible for more (practically and spiritually) and I want to start off with a good plan and some structure. Any thoughts, tips, advice appreciated!