Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Manners & Etiquette
Paying a Shiva Call by Phone

mrsERK

Post Thu, Jun 03 2010, 6:22 pm
Any suggestions? I've never done this before but a family friend died so I intend to call to speak with both the widow and three sons of the deceased.
I'm not very good with shiva houses in person, and I'm even more nervous about doing this over the phone.
What do I say? (other than the hamakom yinachem...)

Yocheved84

Post Thu, Jun 03 2010, 6:28 pm
Can I ask why your'e opting to call instead of visiting? Can you bring someone with you to the shiva house? Sorry to hear about your loss.

mrsERK

Post Thu, Jun 03 2010, 6:31 pm
Oh I wish I could go in person! I'm just not in the same city as the family so it is not possible.

Yocheved84

Post Thu, Jun 03 2010, 6:33 pm
evers10 wrote:
Oh I wish I could go in person! I'm just not in the same city as the family so it is not possible.

They're probably not going to be in the mood to talk, so the phone call won't take more than five minutes. You're just calling to expres your sympathies, say you're sorry you can't be there, and you should BH see one another again during simcha, not tsurris. It'll be such a short phone call.

Will it be awkward? Yes. But will it be a quick call, and also the right thing to do (which you acknowledge)? Yes. Also, send a card.

Hope this helps.

shevi82

Post Fri, Jun 04 2010, 2:12 am
I had to do that a few times, when I was in Israel. They are short calls ,I said "He was a special person and we always felt close we will miss him..." and then Hamakom.

life'sgreat

Post Fri, Jun 04 2010, 2:18 am
Find out if they have a fax/email to write to. Many families would prefer that.

mrsERK

Post Fri, Jun 04 2010, 8:23 am
Thank you all for your thoughtful suggestions - I'm going to look into it and then either email/write/call on Sunday. Thanks!

chocolate moose