Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Help me find a career-- please read

amother

Post Tue, Feb 22 2011, 10:10 am
Right now, I'm doing home-based sales and am hating every minute of it. I need a job that will make me at least 1000-1200 a month and can be done at home on my own hours. I have a few possibilities but have no idea how much the salary is so any help would be appreciated:

1) Recipe column- I am an awesome cook and can style my own foods. When I send stuff over for a simcha, people always tell me I should have a column. How much do magazines pay per recipe? (I thought to do 3-4 a week)

2) haircutting- I took a course years ago and never did anything with it so I'd need to brush up. I see so many ads cropping up all the time so I wonder if there's still room for more business (I live in Kensington)

3) sell miniatures for simchos.

Which of these has the most consistent pay? How much do these jobs pay? Please please please help me.

chocolate moose

Post Tue, Feb 22 2011, 10:38 am
I would think that option #3 would be the worst one. After all, you don't have a hechsher, and people don't make simchas on a consistent basis - summertime is slow and so is sefirah.

mummiedearest

Post Tue, Feb 22 2011, 11:42 am
I think you can do numbers 1 and 2. it takes a while for these things to become regular jobs. keep your current job and see what kind of business you can get on the side.

JAWSCIENCE

Post Tue, Feb 22 2011, 4:24 pm