Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
What talents are needed to become a graphic artist?

amother

Post Mon, May 23 2011, 6:47 pm
just wondering if you need any special talents in order to be a good graphic artist - as I'm really interested in it - I love working on the computer but I can't draw and I don't have too much patience to sit on one thing for too long ...

any ideas what it takes to be a good graphic artist?

Simple1

Post Mon, May 23 2011, 7:06 pm
I'm not a graphic artist but know a little bit about the field, but I'm not so sure you need to draw.
It does help if you have a good eye for design and artistic flair. That would make a difference between doing mediocre jobs to really outstanding work.

Simple1

Post Mon, May 23 2011, 7:12 pm
You probably do need patience, but that might depend on what kind of job for you. I have done amateur work doing flyers as well as photo collages for paying clients and some of them can drive you crazy with changes till it's perfect. Often the mistakes are their end - like they need to add or change info etc.

be good

Post Mon, May 23 2011, 9:00 pm
I would say you need a good eye for design overall. patience isnt something you need in design more than any other field, but its important to develop it for all areas of life Smile. creativity and ablity to think aoutside the box will get you far in design too. it you reaaly want to make a career out of it this is important. for more of an office job, major creativity isnt necesary.

techiemom

Post Mon, May 23 2011, 9:27 pm
Take a look at this site which is based on the books by Robin Williams (not the comedian): nhsdesigns.com