Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Kosher Kitchen
Oven on yomtov/shabbat

amother

Post Tue, Sep 06 2011, 5:41 pm
Hi, I'm a novice owner of shabbat mode oven, and wonder what people do with the oven for 2day yomtov followed by shabbat. My main oven has a digital display with shabbat mode where I can leave the oven on for 75hours. To be honest I only used the oven on shabbat once cuz I need something I can keep the food hot for shabbat lunch so I use hotplate.

For yomtov, I presume I can't adjust temperature because of digital display. So do I set it high enough so I can bake things for shabbat if I need to? Can I put the food in and out during yomtov?

It's Bosche oven if relevant.

chanahlady

Post Tue, Sep 06 2011, 11:20 pm
On my MIL's Shabbat-mode oven, it too has a digital readout. However, you can still change the temperature on YT because it uses a grama and the screen doesn't change at all.

OOTBubby

Post Wed, Sep 07 2011, 4:03 pm
chanahlady wrote:
On my MIL's Shabbat-mode oven, it too has a digital readout. However, you can still change the temperature on YT because it uses a grama and the screen doesn't change at all.

Please note that while the Star-K does say that for the ovens it provides a hechsher for that you can change the temperature on YT, almost all other major poskim disagree with that and do not allow temperature to be changed on YT.

chanahlady

Post Wed, Sep 07 2011, 9:53 pm
Here's guidance for using Shabbat mode ovens from the CRC:

http://www.crcweb.org/kosher_a.....e.php

MaBelleVie

Post Wed, Sep 07 2011, 11:32 pm