Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management
HELP! Mouse in my house, shabbos guests on the floor...
1  2  Next

amother

Post Thu, Nov 24 2011, 3:20 pm
Just saw him scuttle across my kitchen. Food all over the counters.

I have a bunch of sem girls coming for Shabbos, sleeping on mattresses on the floor.

He was pretty cute and all, but now what?

Don't laugh at me - I'm new to this, and FREAKED out...

I need my big strong Tatty!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Somebody, save me!

amother

Post Thu, Nov 24 2011, 3:29 pm
Guys, this is serious!

I promise I am not a troll, and I really need your support right now. Smile

What's the next step?

Throw out all the food?

Warn the guests?

Try to find an exterminator before Shabbos?

HELP!

amother

Post Thu, Nov 24 2011, 3:36 pm
Oh, and just so you understand the gravity of the situation, I am stuck here on the couch, afraid to step on the floor, lest the mouse run over my feet and up my legs etc.....Eeeeeeeeeeew!

And now my kugel is burning in the oven!

Oh well, hope you're all enjoying your turkey...

chanahlady

Post Thu, Nov 24 2011, 3:36 pm
Wash all the floors. Leave ZERO food and ZERO crumbs ANYWHERE. Wash all the countertops and tables. If you can, go out and buy those plastic bins with lids that snap on, and put anything that can be eaten by a mouse in there. That includes boxes of pasta, bags of rice, anything that a mouse can eat through (and they have very sharp teeth). Put out cotton balls soaked in peppermint oil (not essence) -- the smell repels them.

That's for the short-term.

Long term, you'll need to plug up any holes in the walls. That's how the mice are entering your house. You can call an exterminator to come and do this for you.

I know all this because we're going through the exact same thing. UGH. Good luck!

chanahlady

Post Thu, Nov 24 2011, 3:38 pm