Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Interesting Discussions
Siyum Hashas - anybody attending, anybody care? (women)
1  2  3  Next

Jay3fer

Post Sun, Jun 03 2012, 9:53 pm
Apart from supporting husbands / sons / fathers / brothers etc who are learning shas, are there any women out there in their own right who are a) learning daf yomi, and b) planning to attend the siyum Hashas somewhere near them to celebrate the accomplishment???

This is mostly personal curiosity, but partly professional interest (I'm a writer)... because it's SUCH a huge thing in some circles, and yet not really much on the radar of most women I know.

Edited to add (because people get scared when they see writer), I would never write about anybody without their permission. And I write for very obscure publications. ;-)

TranquilityAndPeace

Post Sun, Jun 03 2012, 10:18 pm
If my DH decides to go with our boys, I'd go along. I would even take the kids (we have all boys) on my own, if DH decides not to go, but I know that would not be practical, as I wouldn't be able to sit with them!

Our sons are 9, 11, and 13 - and I think this event could form a solid and positive impression of Daf Yomi and learning in general on their malleable minds. In another 7 years, they will be at a completely different place in their lives, so I think this is a wonderful opportunity for them. I remember about 21 years ago, when I was in middle school, and my friends were talking about going, but I didn't go.

I don't think I gave you any writing material in this post, though - sorry!

chocolate chips

Post Sun, Jun 03 2012, 10:30 pm
My husband used to learn daf yomi when he had plenty time on his hands unfortunately he doesn't anymore.