Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Hobbies, Crafts, and Collections -> The Imamother Writing Club
What do you want to see in BY school plays?
1  2  3  4  Next

bigsis144

Post Mon, Aug 06 2012, 7:19 pm
I've been directing plays and choreographing dances since my younger siblings could follow my directions, and baruch Hashem, I've gotten the opportunity to direct a number of high school productions, both when I was a student and now as a teacher.

I've never been particularly impressed with the quality of most Bais Yaakov plays, finding them super-cliched in plot (family held together by heirloom object that represents mesorah, story of a discovery/return to Yiddishkeit), setting (Spanish Inquisition, shtetl/founding of BY movement, Lower East Side), characters (the strong father, the loving mother, the rebellious teenager, the moustache-twirling villian, plus a number of uncomfortable racist stereotypes as comic relief) and more.

So I figured I'd stop griping and WRITE something. And though I'm a voracious reader and a director with a knack for getting scenes to come to life, my play-writing experience is limited to adapting other people's writing. I can extend a script, tweaking, improving and clarifying parts of it, but ask me to come up with an original plot or characters, and I totally freeze.

But I'm determined to write something, and I gotta start somewhere. Even if it's terrible and I never let anyone read it, I'll never get anywhere if I don't try, right?

So, what would you like to see in a Bais Yaakov school play? Both as audience and participant, both practically (not 4 hours long, yet including all students who want to participate; workable with a limited budget for sets and costumes) and creatively.

September June

Post Mon, Aug 06 2012, 7:27 pm
Something short and funny.

bigsis144

Post Mon, Aug 06 2012, 7:46 pm
September June wrote:
Something short and funny.