Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Is anyone a Play Therapist?

amother

Post Sun, Jan 06 2013, 5:23 pm
Hi, if anyone works as a play therapist, I am looking for info about this field. All the relevant details, like schooling - how long, how much it costs, and salary, demand for this field.... I live in Brooklyn. Also, I already have a masters in special ed / regular ed. Does that make a difference in the coursework? TIA.

amother

Post Sun, Jan 06 2013, 5:33 pm
I would also love to be a play therapist. I also have my masters in special ed. SEIT is similar to play therapy,no?

amother

Post Mon, Jan 07 2013, 3:24 pm
I'm not sure what you mean. They have some similarities, I guess.... Anyone?

amother

Post Mon, Jan 07 2013, 4:02 pm
From my understanding it is part of the social work/psychology field

amother

Post Mon, Jan 07 2013, 4:53 pm
hi. I am a social worker who does play therapy. try this website: therapywithatwist.com wendy is a social worker who works out of the bronx. I heard her speak and she is very good. she has on her site info on how to become a registered play therapist if you are interested. good luck.

amother

Post Mon, Jan 07 2013, 5:06 pm
thanks for responding. I don't see much info on that site. Can you share some basic info? Do you work privately or for board of ed? How much does board of ed pay? Is it in demand these days?

amother

Post Tue, Jan 08 2013, 7:18 am
bump

mommy#1

Post Wed, Jan 09 2013, 6:37 pm
are you talking about floortime? if you are, I may be able to direct you to someone in Lakewood who may or may not talk to you over the phone

amother

Post Wed, Jan 09 2013, 6:40 pm
You need to become a social worker

amother

Post Wed, Jan 09 2013, 7:14 pm
Play therapy is an area of specialty beyond the masters. It is often employed by Psychotherapists (social work or psychology).
I don't know how you could utilize it as a special educator.