Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Recipe Collection -> Healthy Cooking
Healthy shopping list help! I'm new to this

wifeandmore

Post Wed, Apr 03 2013, 12:22 pm
My usual shopping list includes duncan hines mix, brown sugar, mint cookies, all sorts of vinegars, pastas, frozen pizza...you get the drift.

All pesach I've been super good for my diet-low carb diet basically (for pcos) and want to go even furtehr now. I'm not the type to shop every day. I want to shop today for the next week. What would I need on a healthy shopping list (what ingredients would be needed for salmon/chicken recipes)...at a loss!!

I hate oatmeal and all those bran / grain things so I'm off to a bad start already...

chani8

Post Wed, Apr 03 2013, 12:44 pm
We don't eat any grains except for shobbos, when we have wild rice pilaf.

My list:

Veggies - zucchini, tomato, peppers, cabbage, onion, broccoli, egg plant
Chicken breasts
Ground beef/chicken/turkey
Tomato paste (no salt)
Eggs
Sliced cheese
Cottage cheese
Diet yogurts
Milk
Spices

I can't think of anything else right now.

MimiMommy

Post Wed, Apr 03 2013, 3:35 pm
Rice/quinoa
Olive oil
Flour
Plain yogurt - delicious mixed with strawberries, nuts, honey, or whatever else and much healthier
Skim milk
Try tofu
Pasta is ok once or twice a week
Fruit - apples, oranges, bananas
Veggies - tomatoes, zucchini, carrots, sweet potatoes, garlic
Beans - great for improvisation. Buy them canned for prep ease.

neveralone

Post Tue, Apr 30 2013, 10:23 pm
chani8 wrote:
We don't eat any grains except for shobbos, when we have wild rice pilaf.

My list:

Veggies - zucchini, tomato, peppers, cabbage, onion, broccoli, egg plant
Chicken breasts
Ground beef/chicken/turkey
Tomato paste (no salt)
Eggs
Sliced cheese
Cottage cheese
Diet yogurts
Milk
Spices

I can't think of anything else right now.