Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Home sick from work - a question

amother

Post Sun, Apr 21 2013, 1:39 pm
Last week I was home one day because I was sick. I work as a secretary in a small office (think 5 people in the whole office).
Now, I was not home sipping margaritas and having fun, I was home with the flu, I could not do anything but lie there and drink a lot and sleep. Well, In the middle of the day, I decided to turn on my cell phone and I see two texts from two people at work, that two things needed to have been done urgently.
Now, what do you people think, when someone is home sick, they are home sick, they should not have to be on call (and the email I use for work is a gmail account so I could technically could have checked through the day at my work email), isnt that correct? My husband disagrees with me (fine he has a job that the nature of his job is more having to be on call all of the time, but for a part time secretary? And I was sick, in bed? I feel like if I am not in the office, I do not have to be able to do everything for my office.
Does this all make sense? I was actually fuming. What do you ladies all think? Home sick means home sick and no work can be done and leave me to my own devises to get better, right? Or am I totally off base with this and now in today's world, no matter what you do, you have to be able to have your work be able to be in touch with you all of the time?

amother

Post Sun, Apr 21 2013, 2:50 pm
bump

chocolate moose

Post Sun, Apr 21 2013, 3:42 pm
In this day and age, people are expected to be on call all the time.

amother

Post Sun, Apr 21 2013, 3:45 pm
chocolate moose wrote:
In this day and age, people are expected to be on call all the time.
Even though I was home, sick in bed, fever, my cell phone was not on.