Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Is it a therapist's place to say something?

amother

Post Wed, Aug 07 2013, 10:10 pm
As a SEIT, I often sit in classrooms biting my tongue, as I observe children crying, teachers yelling, unfair punishments, poor teaching, etc. I know that I am there to do my job and not to judge or comment on everything else going on in the classroom.

However, if the director would come over to you, as a therapist in the room, asking for feedback, and where there is room for improvement, how forthcoming would you be???

I am relatively new to the playgroup where I am currently working, and was put in this situation. I did tell her that the kids are crying too much, placing the blame perhaps on the size of the group. But I did not expand on the fact that the teachers are always yelling at the kids (which she know about, to some extent), that they pour a child's unfinished cereal into another child's bowl, that there is not enough structure, or that some of the teachers are busy on their phones half the time...

I really don't feel that it is my place to criticise the way everything is run, but do you think I have a responsibility to expand on these details?

Chayalle

Post Wed, Aug 07 2013, 10:12 pm
I don't know, except that as a parent, I hope my child is not in such a class, ever.

Which is why, when doing playgroup research for my kids, I always asked friends of mine who do what you do....they know what goes on in the classrooms, and have never let me down.

Merrymom

Post Wed, Aug 07 2013, 10:25 pm
I think you have a responsibility to the kids, not to the teachers.

MaBelleVie

Post Wed, Aug 07 2013, 10:26 pm
Yes, I would share everything. Don't exaggerate and don't get emotional, but give a matter of fact report of whatever you have seen.

naomi2

Post Wed, Aug 07 2013, 10:27 pm
amother wrote: