Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Self employed versus Working for others

amother

Post Sat, Oct 05 2013, 9:16 pm
I have been working for several years in several different companies and advanced in each one of them to higher positions. I recently changed to a new job. The paycheck I bring home does not reflect the many responsibilities I carry and there's no raise in sight. I am frustrated and extremely unhappy and working for others is really getting to me. I have been starting to consider opening my own business but dh is not convinced that thats the best route to take. He feels it's a gamble and entails many more responsibilities. I am a workaholic and don't mind the work if it comes with payoff. If you went from being an employee to being self employed can you share your position on this? TIA

TwinsMommy

Post Sat, Oct 05 2013, 10:11 pm
I became fully self employed in 2001 and NEVER Looked back or regretted it for a moment. I can work as much or as little as I want to. I can do multiple different things instead of just one thing. I can put my focus in different places different months. I can make much much much more money per hour and therefore work many fewer hours. I work mostly at home. I work the hours I want to work---- working at home I can work while the laundry or cooking goes on in the background. For some of my business, clients never come over--- but for one of my businesses I have clients in my home so the one downside is that sometimes I have to clean and tidy up. lol.