Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Big career change - please advise!

amother

Post Mon, Oct 07 2013, 12:22 pm
Hi Y'all. I am a full time graphic designer with many years of experience. I work full time and make under 30k. While appreciative that I have a job, this low income doesn't work for me anymore. My husband works and we have a growing family and simply need more money to pay the bills. I'm not sure this line of work even really offers me that much more income down the line, even if I switch to a different employer.

I've been debating switching to an entirely different career, but I'm not trained for anything else. Therefore, I was thinking of Medical Secretary. They can earn in the 40k's and don't require much training.

Thoughts? Is anyone out there a medical secretary and can tell me about it? Or have any other career ideas that I can investigate?

Thanks

amother

Post Mon, Oct 07 2013, 1:03 pm
Sonographer?

amother

Post Mon, Oct 07 2013, 2:04 pm
ok anyone here a sonographer that can tell me about sonogrpahy and some basic points like income, hours, description...etc?

amother

Post Mon, Oct 07 2013, 4:48 pm
I just wanted to look into that too, any knowledgeable imamother's here, I'd love to hear from you!

amother

Post Mon, Oct 07 2013, 5:13 pm
OP, I am confused as to why a full-time graphic designer with years of experience is making less than $30k? I work full time as a designer and I make just under $50k, and I have 5-6 years of experience. Are you freelancing? I know that full-time jobs are harder to come by in this field, but they are not non-existent. Perhaps you should get some more training in a field you're already familiar with - say, web or app design - and look for a better paying job.

amother

Post Mon, Oct 07 2013, 5:37 pm
OP Here. nope, I'm not freelancing, I work full time for a company, and I have 8 years of experience.