Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Question about Nursing school pre-requisites

amother

Post Tue, Nov 19 2013, 11:21 am
I am thinking of going to nursing school, I have my Bachelors degree already (so I'm gona do a second degree BSN program) but I would have to take all the nursing pre-requisites. I'm so confused, how do you figure out which classes to take? Many schools require different pre-requisites but I don't know which school I am going to get into so how do I know which classes to take??? I'm in the NY/Monsey/North Jersey area. Thanks in advance.

amother

Post Tue, Nov 19 2013, 11:25 am
You need to pick one or two schools that you want to attend and take those pre-requisites. I went back to be a nurse after already having a BA. I chose Bergen Community college because it is 6 minutes form my house and it is cheap. It is also uber-competitive to get in. However, you should get your BSN and skip the associates. That was my mistake.

Cookies n Cream

Post Tue, Nov 19 2013, 11:26 am
You have your transcripts sent to the school of your choice. They'll compare the classes you've taken to their required classes and see what you're missing.

Btw, none of the nursing schools that I know of (Beth Israel, Touro, Adelphi) require prereqs.
You need to find out whether they will allow you to transfer your courses. Chances are, they won't .

amother

Post Tue, Nov 19 2013, 11:30 am
Cookies n Cream wrote:
You have your transcripts sent to the school of your choice. They'll compare the classes you've taken to their required classes and see what you're missing.

Btw, none of the nursing schools that I know of (Beth Israel, Touro, Adelphi) require prereqs.
You need to find out whether they will allow you to transfer your courses. Chances are, they won't .