Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Hobbies, Crafts, and Collections -> The Imamother Writing Club
How much do the mags pay for articles/stories?

amother

Post Mon, May 12 2014, 5:29 pm
I am a published author writing for a few magazines but I'm still unsure as to what the proper amount of money to expect is.

Any info. anyone?

Thanks

amother

Post Mon, May 12 2014, 6:45 pm
The standard rate in heimishe magazines is .10/word (much lower than the rate paid for writers elsewhere). Different pieces (like for one requiring multiple interviews) may pay differently. Articles published in the junior sections may receive even less.

Shorter articles are usually around 1200 words while features and stories can be over 3000. Depending on how quickly you write, how long u spend interviewing, researching, editing and polishing, and how much back and forth is required afterwards with editors, this can either be a nice side income or u may feel as though you're almost working for free. Very Happy

amother

Post Mon, May 12 2014, 8:54 pm
Thanks for the information.

I hear what you are saying. BH I enjoy writing and love getting published but, we'll see about the practical aspect of the job!

Do you happen to know how much each mag Binah, Mishpacha, Ami pay specifically?

Thanks!

d l

Post Mon, May 12 2014, 9:08 pm
I'm a reader- not a writer, but that is crazy that they get away with paying so little!

That does not sound like a lot for time and talent that must go into writing.

And I'm sure the magazines do very well with all the ads that they sell. I hope they value their regular writers more and pay them better than that.

I am really surprised to hear that price- that just does not sound fair to me.

amother

Post Mon, May 12 2014, 9:25 pm
d l wrote:
I'm a reader- not a writer, but that is crazy that they get away with paying so little!