Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Teenagers and Older children
My ds wants a different kippa
1  2  3  Next

amother

Post Tue, Oct 28 2014, 12:44 pm
My oldest child is ds 12yrs old. He had a hard time with the rebbes in his elementary charedi school and although he is still in a talmud torah where they wear black velvet kippot, he keeps asking for a kippa sruga instead. He plays football with some boys in our neighbourhood and they wear these and he wants to fit in. He is not very interested in religion or learning torah and im afraid hes just on a downward slope.

Do I let him wear a different kippa to that which the rest of our family wear? I fear the other boys will follow.. or am I being silly. Im new to this stage so im abit clueless. Not sure how much control we have over them and what they do. We are in Israel so your kippa makes a statement.

Jewishmom8

Post Tue, Oct 28 2014, 12:50 pm
taking everything you said into account I think you should let him.

sequoia

Post Tue, Oct 28 2014, 12:53 pm
I understand you're in Israel and your kippa makes a statement.

Now is the time to talk to him. Show him that you trust him. Allow him to make decisions. Talk to him about different derachim, the strengths and challenges of each, the importance of making choices. Think of it (if it comes to that) as a lateral rather than downward move.

I don't mean telling a 12 year old kid, "If you wear a knitted kippa you have to go in the army." Talk to him in general, in confidential tones, about choices and the responsibilities that come with them. He will appreciate your trust in him and your taking him seriously.

marina

Post Tue, Oct 28 2014, 12:55 pm
support him in this.

By the time you have a teenager, your role changes from enforcer to cheerleader or salesman.

amother

Post Tue, Oct 28 2014, 1:24 pm