Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays -> Chanukah
Help with gift idea for teachers

amother

Post Wed, Dec 10 2014, 1:28 pm
Long story short, I got locked out of sending in $20 with the whole class and having that being distributed among all of my kid's teachers. I would have very much liked to be included, but alas, that is not an option. My question is, what do I give now? Especially because I'll have to be spending more, as I cannot just give each teacher $5. Any ideas?

Fox

Post Wed, Dec 10 2014, 1:36 pm
Write a lovely letter to each teacher, thanking them specifically for whatever qualities they bring to the classroom. I have many positive letters and evaluation forms I received when I was a classroom teacher, and I still look at them from time to time.

If you can afford it, get $5-$10 gift certificates at a local coffee shop or the equivalent. It's always nice to have a small treat without feeling guilty about spending the money!

But if it's not in the budget, don't worry about it.

Sherri

Post Wed, Dec 10 2014, 1:39 pm
I'm sorry you weren't included, and I second the detailed letter.

morahaviva

Post Wed, Dec 10 2014, 1:40 pm
As a teacher who has 300 mugs, and more than enough soaps to clean a herd of elephants, I suggest something other than a mug or a soap set (I really didnt think I smelled that bad...) embarrassed

A gift card from starbucks (unless chalav yisrael of course), local kosher eatery, nail place, etc. Dont get a gift card for a waxing place though... that may be taken the wrong way.... shock

A gift certificate from Barnes and Noble or local seforim/ book store are usually appreciated. One would hope their childs teacher would appreciate books..... Question

Fox

Post Wed, Dec 10 2014, 1:51 pm
morahaviva wrote: