Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
How do you afford to pay tuition for multiple kids?!

amother
Aubergine

Post Sun, Nov 08 2015, 11:59 am
Ok, so I'm really new to this. I went to one jewish school open house (in NY)since I'll have to register my son for kindergarten next year. So the tuition is around $9500 (not included meals if needed) from K-8th grade yearly. I know I can afford to pay this for one child, but what about the others? I have three kids and how exactly do people pay a yearly tuition for more than one child? Do the scholarships really help? I want them to be at this school, but I don't want to suddenly be stuck without any money to pay bills....it's crazy.

cm

Post Sun, Nov 08 2015, 12:02 pm
You negotiate with the school. There will probably be a formal application process for financial aid.

shoshanim999

Post Sun, Nov 08 2015, 12:06 pm
The answer is simple: In order to pay 4 or 5 tuitions, save 150K+ for a down payment and buy a house, send your kids to camp, (sleep away when they get older), you pretty much have to fall in one of the following three categories:

1. Live out of town where housing and tuitions are much cheaper.
2. Have a combined household income of at least 200k.
3. Have a parent/relative who has lots of extra cash give you some (or a lot) of it to help you meet your bills.

There is no other way. I don't mean to be blunt, but these are the facts for a young couple planning their future and considering what to expect their expenses will be like.

SRS

Post Sun, Nov 08 2015, 12:12 pm